top of page

Overcoming Anxiety To Live Your Dream!




"She believed she could so she did."




Inhale 5-4-3-2-1 Exhale 5-4-3-2-1

Lather and repeat.




That is me most days, practicing my breathing and grounding myself. My heart was racing, everything floating around me, and unable to concentrate on anything.


I was diagnosed with Bipolar 1 disorder, and with it came overbearing and crippling anxiety. It will get so bad that I can't leave the house to check the mail because I will become very paranoid.


Today I am going over some tips and tricks to help you while having a panic attack. Also, some tips that will help you control your anxiety to help you push through to accomplish your dreams.


Anxiety and following your dreams is difficult, but once you make it through. You will come out stronger and braver!


Disclaimer: I have anxiety attacks still to this day. These are just ways that help me push through them. Ways that shorten the blow a little bit. To make it more bearable and easier to follow my dreams when scared shitless.





How has anxiety affected my dreams?

It took me a long time to get through my panic attacks to start this blog. Or even to talk about beginning it. I would have a panic attack just from thinking about it because I will overthink.


When I say overthink, I mean I will go into each detail of what could go wrong. What if people judge me, what if I'm not good enough, someone else had already done it so there is no point, and so on. Then I am sitting on the floor breathless. I was a mess.



I was so terrified to even think about my dreams. Mainly because of the thought of them coming true and then failing! That haunted me and scared me shitless. Failing is still my biggest form of anxiety.


But now, I am chasing my dreams and kicking my anxiety into a new hole because I will control my future, and I won't let anything stand in the way! For too long I was giving in to my panic attack. Stopping myself to do anything because I didn't think it was worth it. But I'm here to tell you it is, and you will not regret it


Now I want you to get out that pen and paper or that laptop and write down these tips to help you become the person you are meant to be and not what your anxiety made you.




How to beat anxieties ass?


1.Acknowledge the panic attack!

This is the first thing you should do. When you are going through your goals and start to get overwhelmed, do this. I want you to STOP. Then think or say out loud that you are experiencing a panic attack. Know that it is there.


Knowing what is happening and when it is happening gives you power over it.


2.Breathe

Take a deep breathe in for 5.....4.....3....2.....1..... Then out 5.....4....3....2....1 and repeat as many times as you like. But, make sure you are focusing on your breath and counting for it to work.


I do this multiple times a day while reciting my affirmations or mantra. It works wonders.


3.Ground Yourself/Distract

I ground myself by tapping each finger to my thumb and see how fast I can go. Here are some things that you can try to ground yourself.

  1. Hands in cold water.

  2. Touch something near you. (preferably soft)

  3. Breathe deeply.

  4. Take a walk.

  5. Smell something. (Like a lavender oil bracelet)

  6. Tap your feet

Knowing where you are and using your senses can help you in so many ways.


4.Visualization

I want you to see the best thing about your goal, write it down or just think about it. I want you to think or write how you would feel if you accomplished it. How happy your life would be, and how successful you will feel. ONLY POSITIVE VISUALIZATION. Do not overthink. If so, redirect your thoughts!


5.Positive Affirmations

Every time I have an anxiety attack, I always tell myself. I am strong, I am beautiful, and I am HELLA freaking powerful. I will say it over and over while tapping my fingers. It always helps to bring me back when I do.


6.DO NOT ACT LIKE IT IS NOT THERE!

Doing this will end up breaking you. You will have a mental breakdown and will not be productive at all. You will be too focused on not having an attack that you indeed live with one every day.


What I mean is when you hold on to all of that and don't address it. You end up keeping it and overthinking it all day. Which makes your attention minimal, work harder, and difficult to sleep.


Also, to add ignoring it can lead to self-medicating. Like me, I went to drinking. I ended up drinking a 12 pack a night to curb that feeling. In return just made it worse.




SUMMARY


Having anxiety in your life doesn't mean you cannot follow your dreams. Yes, it is hard but, in doing so. You become much powerful. You are a god damn warrior and goddess. You can and will become anything you set out to become.




Thank You for joining me today and reading this groovy article segment about anxiety and following your dreams.


As always, remember you are strong, beautiful, and HELLA freaking powerful.

Komentar


202449966_5559348174135162_8066762432159206359_n.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hi, my name is Rebecca. I am the creator of Bipolar DragonFly. Here you will find many ways to improve your personal development, talk about mental health, and the habits and routines that you do.

 

   This fun, loving, supportive site is here for you. I'm excited to have you on this journey to become the best you can be. So sit back, relax and read on.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page