top of page

The Power Of Habits: Personal Growth

August 16, 2021 \\

Are you ready to read about everything habit? To start your journey in personal growth and be the badass person you are meant to be.


Keep on reading, and I will guide you on this journey.



Are you ready to read about everything habit? To start your journey in personal growth and be the badass person you are meant to be.


Keep on reading, and I will guide you on this journey.

 
A head cartoon with habits written inside with different habits floating around it

What is a habit?


Habits are something you do every day, a routine that is hard to change.


A habit is like breathing, something that you are programmed to do. For example, brushing your teeth with your left hand or even smoking cigarettes.


A groovy thing about habits is that you can do them without even acknowledging them!


I did a 24 hours habit study. I wrote down everything from morning till night. I mean every detail. It filled an entire notebook!


I discovered that I did a lot of things without even knowing I was.


I would have sugar already in my coffee cup in the morning, would wash my face, and not even process what I did, even letting my pupper face out for bathroom time. I didn't even notice I was doing it.


I didn't notice them because I have done them every day for at least six years. It was completely out of habit!

 
a sign that says good habits pointing to good life

Why are habits connected to personal growth?


Habits are part of your self-growth because they make up who you are. If you apply good, productive, and responsible habits to your daily lifestyle, you will be more productive without knowing that you are!


When you apply habits to personal growth and not just hygiene and coffee time, you can become the person you have always dreamed of and so much more.


Imagine waking up early without an alarm clock and coffee already done, that you are energized for the day and start working within an hour of waking up in a great mood.

 
A graph showing what a habit loop is in order

How are habits formed?


I love habits and how they are formed and processed in the brains that zombies love so much. Plus, reading Atomic Habits a billion and two times with complete and utter obsession.


Every habit comes from a physiological habit loop. It consists of a three-step process a trigger, behavior, then rewards.


Example: When I wake up in the morning, that triggers me to make coffee, so I get up to walk downstairs, and the reward is a warm cup of liquid gold.


Habits form when you perform the same routine over and over again. So when you wake up every morning and brush your teeth or chug a bottle of water. That is a habit.

 
A graph photo of the types of habits

What are the different types of habits?


Yes, there are different types of habits other than good or bad. There are motor, intellectual, and character. Lets me explain what these beauties are.


Motor: These are physical actions you routinely make. Standing, walking, and exercising.

Example: When you run every morning after your coffee.


Intellectual: This is when you are an observer, have accelerated perceptions and logical thinking.

Example. When you look into every detail of a situation, from working on your budget to making project proposals.


Character: Helping others, trusting, honesty.

Example: If you see someone asking for a change in your routine give them a chance.

 
Direction to go habits or changes

How do you develop good habits?


Developing good habits are possible. I used to have so many bad habits. Bathing and brushing my teeth were the only good habits that I had.


I developed good habits by using these techniques.


Start with Small Adjustments. I always say when you start a new habit, only one at a time. When you pile up more than one it sets you up for failure. it can take anywhere from 18- 254 days to create a lasting habit. Sounds like a long time but after the first month, it gets a lot easy.

Example: I started the habit to chug a bottle of water every morning last year. Then after 4 weeks, I introduced stretching to wake up my body. I am now happy to say I have been doing it every day for that year and more years to come.


Be Positive: Yes! Be positive. Practice your affirmations and gratitude every day. More when you are feeling negative.


When you are thinking in a negative mindset, it makes you feel like a failure and encourages you to give up. With that, habits will be a benefit for you in your future.

Example: Every morning I wake up I write in my journal these five affirmations

  1. I am beautiful.

  2. I am strong.

  3. I am hella freaking powerful.

  4. I am an exceptional human.

  5. I finish everything I start.


Example 2: Every evening I practice gratitude. I write down five things I am grateful for the day.

  1. Have a cup of coffee the way I like it ( 3 teaspoons of sugar and 1/3 cup of milk, Folger's black silk. Perfection.)

  2. My children smile.

  3. The way the sun awakes in the morning.

  4. The site of the trees dancing with the wind.

  5. Did I say coffee? I have three kids.


Once you make the Decision, Commit to it: Write it down. I mean, write it down freaking everywhere where you can see it. Set a timer to remind you with a motivating quote or reason to make this new routine your life habit.


Here are some ways to commit to your habit-

Set goals. Yes, when we commit to something – whether it's starting something or stopping something


Commit to the process. Tell yourself why you made this habit and remind yourself every day. Because is freaking worth having it and it is not a waste of your time. It is your future and life!


Plan. Write out a plan to accomplish what you want. A time, place, and setting. Look at it every day and stick to it


Just get on with it! I don't need to explain this. To have that habit, you have to motivate yourself to do it. Here is an article to help with motivation.


Tell people. Get yourself an accountability partner. Someone to make you do what you want to do. For me, I didn't have this. So I used myself to be held accountable, and it works!


Reward yourself. When I say reward, I always mean a healthily reward yourself! Not with alcohol and other things like that. I mean as reading a new book or buying you that top you always wanted that has been sitting in your Amazon account. Or even better, a bubble bath with candles and a book.


Identify All Your Triggers and Obstacles. Right now, I want you to write down everything that you think would get in the way of your habit. Here are some of the minds that I wrote. This is important so you can make a plan on how to cope when it happens to continue your goal.

  1. It's not worth it.

  2. I'm never going to be able to do it.

  3. I just don't feel like it anymore.

  4. What's the point

Those are the four thoughts that make me stop doing anything I want to achieve. I call it my bitch voice. You know that negative thought in your brain that always puts you down. That is your friendemy

 

How do you get rid of bad habits?


I'm not going to sugarcoat for you. Some habits are worse than others. It will be stressful, irritating, and full-blown hard on occasions that will have some slip-ups. I'm here to tell you that is ok! Slip-ups happen, and it happens to everyone. Some days you're not going to want to do it. But, all you got to do is reset look at your plan and reasons. Then keep on going.


Here are some techniques you can try.

  1. Identify your triggers.

  2. Focus on why you want to change.

  3. Enlist a friend's support.

  4. Practice mindfulness.

  5. Replace the habit with a different one.

  6. Leave yourself reminders.

  7. Prepare for slip-ups.

  8. Let go of the all-or-nothing mindset. For more about mindset, here is my article. Mindest: Grow Into Growth

Rember this quote " Nothing is impossible, the word itself spells I'm possible"

 
a quote about habits

What can good habits do for success?


With good habits, you can accomplish anything! The foundation to personal growth and success starts with what you do. That water you drink and the bed you make every morning gives you the motivation to do more. Those books that you read every night could be a form of studying for your future career or business.


Habits are usually the last thing anyone even thinks about when starting their journey when It should be the first.

 

Summary:


As you can tell habits are the foundation of your personal growth journey. You do small routines every day to give you the life you have always dreamt of.


Yes, it is a lot of work. But, I promise you it is worth it! You will be even greater than you already are.


What are some habits that you want to add to your life to make you more successful? What are some bad habits you want to trade-in?

 

Don't forget to scroll down and subscribe to my weekly challenge email to help you on your growth journey.


Also, subscribe to my Pinterest, Instagram, and Facebook group.


As always remember, you are strong, you are beautiful, and you are HELLA freaking powerful.


Personal Growth: Motivation

Comments


202449966_5559348174135162_8066762432159206359_n.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hi, my name is Rebecca. I am the creator of Bipolar DragonFly. Here you will find many ways to improve your personal development, talk about mental health, and the habits and routines that you do.

 

   This fun, loving, supportive site is here for you. I'm excited to have you on this journey to become the best you can be. So sit back, relax and read on.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page