top of page

8 Simple Ways To Clear Your Mind From Stress




'Your mind is like water, when turbulent, it's difficult to see. When calm everything becomes clear.'



Table Of Contents


Do you ever get so overwhelmed that it feels like your head will explode?


It’s like you’ve got way too much going on in your head. You’re mentally juggling all the things that you’ve got to do today. And you’re also making a mental list of the things you’ve got to remember to do tomorrow and later in the week.


You have so many random thoughts bouncing around in your head. The more you think about them, the more you lose yourself.


I have been there, I would be so stressed out with juggling kids, keeping up with the house, and so much life. I got to the point I was doing a dozen things and was not accomplishing any of them. Then, since I didn't finish them I got more stressed out.


This became an everyday thing. I was so burned out. Ready to throw in the towel and watch everything just burn down. Until I realized that there was a way out.

Let's get started.



Why is it so critical to be able to clear your mind?


A clear mind is a powerful mind. In fact, there is no end to the health and wellness benefits you can gain with a clearer, more focused, and centered mind. Here are just a few of the benefits you can look forward to:

  1. Boosted creativity and flow

  2. Improved mindfulness

  3. An easy-going attitude that others will be drawn to

  4. More energy

  5. Clarity during times of stress

  6. Better learning

  7. An improved memory

  8. Better control over negative thoughts and feelings

  9. An easier time dealing with difficult situations and emotions

  10. More presence during important moments

  11. A more enjoyable and rewarding life overall


You can achieve all of that! Here are a few ways you can




Declutter Your Environment

This is my number one rule. When I say declutter your environment I don't mean go on a stress-induced cleaning spree. Unless that is calming to you.


I have three children 6 and younger. My house never stays clean for more than an hour. So I learned to keep my space clean.


What I mean by that is to find a spot that is yours and a place where you are relaxed and calm. For me, that is my bedroom, it's where I go to relax from the day and self-care.


The reason behind having a clean space is for your mind. It is relaxing. Coming home or going to bed with clutter just adds on more stress. Have you ever heard the saying Clean space, clean mind? I live by it ever since the first time I practice it.


Might not have a clean house all the time because of my children, But my room is made to stay clean and have a relaxing atmosphere



Journaling.

I wrote a post about journaling and the benefits it has on not only your mental health but your physical health as well called "Journaling: One Hell Of A Habit".


I mention a type of journal that I have called a brain dumb journal or bitch journal. It's basically where you write for however long you need to without worrying about grammar or punctuation.


The goal is to vent, write everything you are thinking. Everything that you are feeling at that moment. I have had tears rolling down my face while doing this so many times.


But after you are done you feel a release of stress.



Start To Let Your Past Go

Letting go is a process that takes time. But, the sooner you move through letting go of what is hurting you, the sooner you will start to feel like a weight has lifted off of you.


You will realize that you are positive about yourself. That you are less stressed, and you make room to completely love yourself.


Holding on to all of that pain doesn't just make you mentally sick, but it can lead to you being physically sick as well.


I am still learning how to let my past go and I have been practicing this technique every day and every day I am getting more and more clear-minded.



Stop Multi-Tasking

Multi-tasking is sometimes good, to a point. You know, when you are running around the house or at working doing a million and one things. Not accomplishing any of them because you are so focused on the next thing you have to get done.


Stick with the 3 accomplishment rule or the 2:1.


It means that you do two small tasks and one large task.


Example: If you are a stay-at-home-mom like me and you have a million things to do. I pick 3 things that I have to get done that day no matter what. I am not allowed to focus on anything else until I accomplish those things.


I would have two small goals: cleaning the refrigerator and doing the laundry. Then my large task will be mowing the farm and weeding. I will not focus on anything else except for those things until they are accomplished then I will create new goals.


It seems weird and it is very hard at first but trust me it is a lifesaver to clear your mind.




Practice Mindfulness

Practicing mindfulness is peace for your soul and energy as well as your mind. It decreases stress, enhances the ability to deal will illness, decreases depression and so much more.


I take my mindfulness really seriously. I have a journal for affirmations and gratitude that I write in 2 times a day. I even practice yoga and meditation to become more relaxed and clear.




Take A Break

Yes, you saw that right. Take an F'N brake. Take a step back and breathe.


When you are overwhelmed it is hard to catch your breath. You are to focus on everything that needs to be done that you cant accomplish anything.


I want you to set aside 30-60 minutes a day to take a break. Remember you are in control of your schedule you can make the time. I want you to take that time and journal. Or, take a bubble bath, or even read.


Take time for yourself and to unwind.


What I like to do is to take 5 minutes of guided meditation, crochet, and read. It always helps me center myself to focus on what I should do next




Summary

Accomplishing having a clear mind takes a lot of determination and self-control. But, you can do this.


Declutter your space for 30 minutes and see how accomplished you feel after. Set a timer and journal for 5-10 minutes. Practice letting your past go with affirmations. Focus on three things instead of 20. Practice mindfulness with meditation, and take an f'n break so you can recharge.



And there you have it. I hope that these strategies will help you on your journey to becoming more clear-minded and stress-free!


And as always, remember you are strong, beautiful, and HELLA freaking powerful!















Comments


202449966_5559348174135162_8066762432159206359_n.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hi, my name is Rebecca. I am the creator of Bipolar DragonFly. Here you will find many ways to improve your personal development, talk about mental health, and the habits and routines that you do.

 

   This fun, loving, supportive site is here for you. I'm excited to have you on this journey to become the best you can be. So sit back, relax and read on.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page